Our Chairman is Edward Spalton who was a corn merchant and animal feed miller, supplying the livestock industry. In 1981 he started his own company making appetite stimulants and feed flavours for farm animals and domestic pets. He is now retired from business.

He became a member of the UK Independence Party in 1994 and stood as a candidate for the East Midlands to the European Parliament in 1999. He also stood in the 2005 General Election in South Derbyshire as a candidate for Veritas “because I have always voted at elections and there was nobody else standing whom I could support”. He is not now a member of any political party and campaigns for British independence on a cross-party basis. He is particularly interested in Eastern European and Balkan affairs and is a member of the Lord Byron Foundation for Balkan Studies.


Our President is George West who spent 37 years with the engineering company James Walker Co Ltd after National Service with the Royal Artillery and also held posts of Business Development Manager and Sales Director with three other companies after leaving James Walker. George spent seven years doing telephone Samaritans voluntary work; spent four years as Director of the Jazz Centre Society, Tower Bridge, London; is voluntary organiser for Leicester’s Head & Neck Cancer Surgery Support Group and acted as a voluntary Welcomer at Leicester Cathedral greeting visitors from around the world.

Has been a member of The Campaign for an Independent Britain founded for nearly 20 years, becoming an elected member of the national executive, then Chairman of the Regional Planning Sub-Committee, then served as Chairman of the National Committee and appointed as President as successor to Lord Stoddart of Swindon on his retirement.


Our Treasurer is John Harrison who qualifed as a Chartered Accountant in 1973 and has an award winning accountancy practice in Worksop, Nottinghamshire which specialises in providing financial management services to owner managed businesses.  John joined the National Committee on 1999 and became Honorary Treasurer in 2000. He is also Membership Secretary. Married to Anne with two children, Victoria and Tristan and is a keen football supporter.

Honorary Secretary

Our Honorary Secretary is Jim Reynolds, a property manager, who is also our leaflet distributor and a vice-president of CIB. He lives in Essex.

Vice Chairmen

Rev Philip Foster, who is the author of a number of books on climate change.

Stuart Notholt, who is a long-standing Committee member.

Jim Reynolds, who is also our Honorary Secretary.

Anthony Scholefield, who is the Director of the think tank Futurus.

Vice Presidents

Lord Pearson of Rannoch was made a life peer on 18 June 1990 for services to the insurance industry, sitting as a Conservative.   He is  the co-founder of a pro free trade think-tank, Global Britain, which publishes research on the BBC’s EU coverage and on the cost of UK membership and is a supporter of the Countryside Alliance. He was leader of UKIP between 27 November 2009 and August 2010.  and has done extensive charitable work and fundraising, in particular for the Camphill movement.

Sir, Teddy Taylor, formerly a journalist, is a British Conservative Party politician who was MP from 1964 to 1979 for Glasgow Cathcart and from 1980 to 2005 for Rochford and Southend East. He was a leading Eurosceptic in the Conservative government. He resigned as a Scottish Office minister in Edward Heath’s government in protest at the British signup to the EEC.

Lord Vinson of Roddam was made a life peer on 7 February 1985. He is a British Businessman who began a small plastics company in 1952 called ‘Plastics Coatings’ in Guildford, for which he won the Queen’s Award for Industry in 1971. He worked at the Centre for Policy Studies between 1974 and 1980

Print Friendly, PDF & Email